Meet Our People


SWMTC employs a highly talented staff of academics, experienced practitioners and creative thinkers. See also below for information about SWMTC governance and trustees.

Academic Staff

Reverend Dr Lucy Larkin
Principal SWMTC

Reverend Dr Dominic Cyrus
Vice-Principal SWMTC

Reverend Preb Kim Mathers
Director of Phase 2

Reverend Hannah Mears
Director of Lay Training

Dr John Ievins - Director Reader Training for Cornwall

Reverend Dr Anna Creedon
Staff Tutor

Canon Nigel Marns
Staff Tutor for Cornwall

Administrative Staff

Dr Cherryl Hunt
Academic Registrar

Reverend Lisa Coupland
Operations Manager

Joan Ridgway
Academic Administrator

Fiona Lang
Communications Officer

SWMTC Chaplains

Other staff

We have a number of other specialist staff who teach on evening classes, at residential weekends, study days and curate events. We are also supported by dedicated volunteer staff who serve as teachers, personal tutors, and spouse accompaniers.


The South West Ministry Training Course is a company limited by guarantee (company number 3070559 and registered charity number 1056606).


  • The Rt Revd Jackie Searle, Bishop of Creditor & Acting Bishop of Exeter
  • The Rt Revd Hugh Nelson, Bishop of St German & Acting Bishop of Truro (Acting Chair)
  • Revd Dr Mark Butchers
  • Revd Canon Professor Morwenna Ludlow
  • Dr Jon Curtis
  • Charles Mills
  • Hamish Adam
  • Revd Elly Sheard
  • Revd Preb Philip Sourbut
  • Rachel Mitchell
  • Sally Piper

Special advisors to the trustees:

  • Revd Prof Andrew Lewis
  • Revd Preb Gina Radford
  • Ben de Cruz